1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 HR 1005
4	
5	By: Representative L. Johnson
6	
7	
8	HOUSE RESOLUTION
9	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS MEDICAL SOCIETY; AND TO
10	CELEBRATE 2025 AS "THE YEAR OF THE ARKANSAS
11	PHYSICIAN".
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO CONGRATULATE THE ARKANSAS MEDICAL
16	SOCIETY; AND TO CELEBRATE 2025 AS "THE
17	YEAR OF THE ARKANSAS PHYSICIAN".
18	
19	WHEREAS, one hundred fifty (150) years ago, in October 1875, two
20	hundred twenty-five (225) Arkansas physicians formed what is now the Arkansas
21	Medical Society; and
22	
23	WHEREAS, from the inception of the Arkansas Medical Society, the
24	physician members of the Arkansas Medical Society have made it their mission
25	to advance the art and science of medicine and improve the health and well-
26	being of the citizens of the State of Arkansas; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, over the past one hundred fifty (150) years, the physicians of
29	the Arkansas Medical Society have been instrumental in addressing the health
30	needs of our state, and the monumental efforts of these physicians, while
31	often obscured by the passage of time, deserve our lasting appreciation; and
32	
33	WHEREAS, the efforts of the physicians of the Arkansas Medical Society
34	include:
35	(1) The creation of the state's first State Board of Health in
36	1879;



HR1005

1 The development of the first medical licensing laws in 1893 (2) 2 and 1903; 3 (3) The establishment of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanitarium in 4 1909; 5 Educational efforts to alleviate typhoid fever and malaria (4) 6 in 1917; 7 (5) The creation of the Medical Practice Act in 1929; 8 (6) The creation of Arkansas Blue Cross in 1948; 9 (7) Sponsorship of the statewide polio vaccination program in 10 1958; and Supporting the establishment of what is now the College of 11 (8) 12 Medicine of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; and 13 14 WHEREAS, throughout the years, the physicians of the Arkansas Medical 15 Society have supported the General Assembly in its efforts to enact 16 legislation designed to improve public health and access to appropriate 17 medical care, including: 18 (1) The Patient Protection Act of 1995; 19 (2) The Arkansas Clean Indoor Air Act of 2006; 20 (3) The development of the statewide trauma system in 2009; and 21 (4) Common-sense reforms designed to reduce burdensome insurance 22 carrier practices that delay the delivery of medical care; and 23 24 WHEREAS, during the coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic, the Arkansas 25 Medical Society, in cooperation with the Governor's office, organized a statewide distribution effort to provide personal protective equipment to 26 27 medical clinics struggling to safely care for patients; and 28 29 WHEREAS, for over fifty (50) years, the Arkansas Medical Society has provided volunteer medical care to members of the House of Representatives 30 and the Senate, State Capitol staff, and visitors to the State Capitol during 31 32 sessions of the General Assembly through what is now known as the "Doctor of 33 the Day" program; and 34 35 WHEREAS, the Dr. H. Elvin Shuffield Capitol Infirmary, sponsored by the 36 Arkansas Medical Society and located on the third floor of the State Capitol,

2

1 2	was officially dedicated by the Seventy-Second General Assembly on April 16, 1980,
3	,
4	NOW THEREFORE,
5	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL
6	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
7	
8	THAT the House of Representatives congratulate the Arkansas Medical
9	Society for its one hundred fifty (150) years of service to the people of
10	Arkansas and celebrate 2025 as "The Year of the Arkansas Physician".
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24 25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	