1	State of ArkansasAs Engrossed:\$3/19/25\$3/31/25\$4/9/2595th General AssemblyA Bill
2	
3	Regular Session, 2025SENATE BILL 400
4 5	By: Senator Irvin
6	By: Representatives Milligan, Cavenaugh, Steimel, Cozart, Wooldridge, Vaught
7	,, _,, _
8	For An Act To Be Entitled
9	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING AGRICULTURE; TO
10	AMEND THE FAIR-FUNDING PROGRAM; AND FOR OTHER
11	PURPOSES.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO AMEND THE FAIR-FUNDING PROGRAM.
16	
17	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
18	
19	SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 2-36-101 is amended to read as follows:
20	2-36-101. Fair-funding program Funding for livestock shows and fairs —
21	<u>Requirements - Districts - Definition</u> .
22	(a) There is created within the Department of Agriculture a fair-
23	funding program that shall be used to provide fair-funding assistance to
24	junior livestock shows, county fairs, district fairs, and the Arkansas State
25	Fair and Livestock Show.
26	(b) The department shall utilize a historical average of total fair
27	funding provided by the State of Arkansas to previous fair-funding recipients
28	in determining an equitable distribution of available funding appropriated by
29	the General Assembly.
30	(c)(l)(A)<u>(l)</u> A recipient of fair funding under the fair-funding
31	program financial assistance provided by the Department of Agriculture under
32	subsection (a) subsection (b) of this section shall+
33	(i) Maintain records of expenditures; and
34	(ii) Submit an annual financial report to the
35	department and to Arkansas Legislative Audit by the end of each calendar
36	year.



1 (B) A recipient of fair funding is subject to a decrease 2 in future funding if the recipient of fair funding does not: 3 (i) Submit an annual financial report as required 4 under subdivision (c)(l)(A)(ii) of this section; or 5 (ii) Provide provide proof of yearly continuing 6 education requirements under guidance adopted by the department. 7 (2) A recipient of fair funding under the fair-funding program 8 established financial assistance under subsection (a) subsection (b) of this 9 section is subject to audit by Arkansas Legislative Audit. 10 (b)(1) The department is authorized to provide financial assistance to 11 livestock shows and fairs. 12 (2) Financial assistance provided by the department under 13 subdivision (b)(1) of this section shall be in accordance with the department's annual appropriation approved by the General Assembly. 14 15 (3) Future fiscal year funding from the state shall not be 16 distributed to a livestock show or fair until all requirements of this 17 section are met. 18 (c)(1) A recipient of financial assistance under subsection (b) of 19 this section shall: 20 (A) Submit the following items each fiscal year to the 21 department and Arkansas Legislative Audit: 22 (i) An annual financial report for the previous 23 state fiscal year that includes without limitation an accounting of state funding utilization; 24 25 (ii) An annual operating plan for the upcoming year; 26 and 27 (iii) A certificate of good standing from the Secretary of State; and 28 29 (B) Be subject to an audit at any time by Arkansas 30 Legislative Audit. (2) A county fair that utilizes county facilities or county 31 32 funds for a livestock show or fair shall submit the information in 33 subdivisions (c)(1)(A)(i)-(iii) of this section to the county quorum court 34 for review before submitting to the department and to Arkansas Legislative 35 Audit. 36 (d) A recipient of financial assistance under this section shall not

2

04-09-2025 13:41:33 CRH199

SB400

As Engrossed: S3/19/25 S3/31/25 S4/9/25

SB400

1	utilize funding provided by the state to pay association fees, dues, or other
2	association-related expenses.
3	(e) A county extension agent shall serve as an ex officio member of a
4	county fair board.
5	(f) An exhibitor may participate in one (l) district fair of his or
6	<u>her choice.</u>
7	(g) The following counties shall be members of the districts as
8	follows:
9	(1) Cleburne County, Fulton County, Izard County, Sharp County,
10	Stone County, and Van Buren County shall be in the North Central District;
11	(2) Mississippi County, Craighead County, Greene County, Clay
12	County, Crittenden County, St. Francis County, Cross County, Poinsett County,
13	Jackson County, Lawrence County, Randolph County, Lee County, Independence
14	County, Monroe County, Phillips County, Woodruff County, and White County
15	shall be in the Northeast District;
16	(3) Baxter County, Boone County, Carroll County, Madison County,
17	Marion County, Newton County, and Searcy County shall be in the Northwest
18	<u>District;</u>
19	(4) Arkansas County, Ashley County, Bradley County, Calhoun
20	County, Chicot County, Cleveland County, Dallas County, Drew County, Grant
21	County, Faulkner County, Lincoln County, Lonoke County, Ouachita County, and
22	Prairie County shall be in the South Arkansas District;
23	(5) Clark County, Columbia County, Garland County, Hempstead
24	County, Hot Spring County, Howard County, Lafayette County, Little River
25	County, Miller County, Montgomery County, Nevada County, Pike County, Saline
26	County, Sevier County, and Union County shall be in the Southwest Arkansas
27	<u>District;</u>
28	
29	(6) Benton County, Conway County, Crawford County, Franklin
_,	(6) Benton County, Conway County, Crawford County, Franklin County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County,
30	
	County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County,
30	County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County, Scott County, Sebastian County, Washington County, and Yell County shall be
30 31	County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County, Scott County, Sebastian County, Washington County, and Yell County shall be in the Arkansas-Oklahoma District as provided under § 2-36-307; and
30 31 32	County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County, Scott County, Sebastian County, Washington County, and Yell County shall be in the Arkansas-Oklahoma District as provided under § 2-36-307; and (7) Lee County, Monroe County, and Phillips County shall be in
30 31 32 33	County, Johnson County, Logan County, Perry County, Polk County, Pope County, Scott County, Sebastian County, Washington County, and Yell County shall be in the Arkansas-Oklahoma District as provided under § 2-36-307; and (7) Lee County, Monroe County, and Phillips County shall be in the Tri-County Fair.

3

1	(2) Residency restrictions on exhibitors shall not apply to this
2	subsection (h).
3	(i) As used in this section, "fair" means an event that includes
4	without limitation livestock shows, consumer and family science,
5	entertainment, and educational activities and programs.
6	
7	/s/Irvin
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24 25	
26	
20	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	

4