1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 51
4	
5	By: Senator K. Hammer
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL PANTHERS BOYS'
10	BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE BENTON HIGH SCHOOL
15	PANTHERS BOYS' BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE
16	CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONS.
17	
18	WHEREAS, the Benton High School Panthers boys' basketball team won the
19	Class 5A state championship held at Bank OZK Arena in Hot Springs, Arkansas,
20	on March 14, 2025; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, this was the Panthers' first state championship win in
23	basketball; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, the Panthers beat rival Maumelle by a score of fifty-eight
26	(58) to fifty-seven (57) points; and
27	
28	WHEREAS, a successful layup with fewer than four (4) seconds remaining
29	by team member Terrion Burgess clinched the state championship victory for
30	the Panthers; and
31	
32	WHEREAS, the Panthers' overall season record was thirty-one wins and
33	three losses (31-3); and
34 25	IMPDEAS the Deptheme are also heal to heal Olega 54 South Outformer
35	WHEREAS, the Panthers are also back-to-back Class 5A South Conference
36	champions; and



```
1
 2
           WHEREAS, the Panthers' conference record for the last two (2) years was
 3
     thirty-two wins and zero losses (32-0); and
 4
 5
           WHEREAS, during the 2024-2025 conference season, the Panthers outscored
 6
     their opponents by one thousand one hundred ninety (1,190) points to six
 7
     hundred thirty (630) points, and averaged a thirty-five-point win in each
8
     game; and
 9
10
           WHEREAS, the Panthers set school records for most wins with twenty-nine
     (29) wins during the 2023-2024 season and thirty (30) wins during the 2024-
11
12
     2025 season; and
13
14
           WHEREAS, the 2024-2025 team members for the Panthers are Peyton
15
     Bolding, Terrion Burgess, Carson Douglas, Pratt Fulks, A.D. Gray, Michael
     Hendrix, Jack Hope, Chris Johnson, Xavier Jones, Caleb Knight, Jeremiah Lea,
16
17
     Harrison Pickett, Javarious Russell, Elem Shelby, Braden Smith, Anthony
18
     Spratt, Jr., and D.J. Trotter, and team managers are Henk Geimer and Will
19
     Sams; and
20
21
           WHEREAS, team member Terrion Burgess earned All-State Honors and was
22
     named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament; and
23
           WHEREAS, team member Harrison Pickett earned All-State Honors and was
24
25
     named to the All-State Tournament Team, and he signed a Division 1
26
     scholarship with the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, making him one (1)
27
     of only a few students in school history to have signed with a Division 1
28
     university; and
29
30
           WHEREAS, team member Anthony Spratt, Jr., earned All-State Honors, and
31
     is the first freshman in school history to do so; and
32
           WHEREAS, team member Elem Shelby earned All-Conference Honors and was
33
34
     named to the All-State Tournament Team; and
35
36
           WHEREAS, team members Javarious Russell, Caleb Knight, and A.D. Gray
```

```
03/18/2025 2:30:01 PM ADF170
```

SR51

2

all earned All-Conference Honors; and WHEREAS, the Panthers were led by Head Coach Dexter Hendrix and Assistant Coaches Tyler Gattin, Terry Burgess, Kendrick Smith, and Luke Flowers; and WHEREAS, Head Coach Dexter Hendrix was honored as the Class 5A South Conference Coach of the Year during both the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 seasons; and WHEREAS, Head Coach Dexter Hendrix said of the win and the season, "This season was truly remarkable. This team set a new school record for the most wins in a single season, achieving an impressive thirty-one victories. They also secured back-to-back conference championships, extending their conference winning streak to thirty-two games. Their resilience and determination throughout the year were exceptional, and I couldn't be prouder of the way they concluded the season. This team will forever be etched in the history of Benton High School as the first to win a state championship", NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: THAT the Senate recognize the Benton High School Panthers boys' basketball team as the Class 5A state champions. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be presented to Head Coach Dexter Hendrix by the Secretary of the Senate.