1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 52
4	
5	By: Senator K. Hammer
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE BRYANT HIGH SCHOOL HORNETS BOYS'
10	BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE CLASS 6A STATE CHAMPIONS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE BRYANT HIGH SCHOOL
15	HORNETS BOYS' BASKETBALL TEAM AS THE
16	CLASS 6A STATE CHAMPIONS.
17	
18	WHEREAS, the Bryant High School Hornets boys' basketball team won the
19	Class 6A state championship held March 15, 2025, at Bank OZK Arena in Hot
20	Springs; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, this was the first state championship win for the Hornets
23	since 1981; and
24	
25	WHEREAS, Hornets team members are seniors Jay Frost, R.J. Newton, and
26	Kellen Robinson, juniors Camarion Bead, Tim Johnson, Spencer Ruff, Caleb
27	Tucker, R.J. Young, and Ryan Young, sophomores Terrance Cochran, Nate
28	Garrigus, Desmin Hall, Ian James, and Jordan Warren, freshman Mason
29	Abrahamson, and team managers Alex Purifoy and Paxon Abrahamson; and
30	
31	WHEREAS, senior guard Kellen Robinson scored twenty-five (25) points in
32	the state championship game, nudging the Hornets to sixty-nine (69) points in
33	the victory over the Springdale High School Bulldogs, who earned fifty-nine
34	(59) points; and
35	
36	WHEREAS, senior guard Kellen Robinson earned Class 6A All-State Honors



1 and All-Conference Honors, was named to the All-State Tournament Team, and 2 was named the Class 6A Most Valuable Player; and 3 4 WHEREAS, senior guard Kellen Robinson is the third-best 2025 Arkansas 5 prospect per 247Sports and has committed to the University of Arkansas at 6 Little Rock Trojans for the 2025-2026 season; and 7 8 WHEREAS, junior guard R.J. Young earned Class 6A All-State Honors and 9 Central All-Conference Honors and was named to the Class 6A Central All-10 Defensive Team and All-State Tournament Team: and 11 12 WHEREAS, junior guard Camarion Bead earned Class 6A All-State Honors and was named to the Class 6A Central All-Conference Team and All-Defensive 13 14 Team; and 15 16 WHEREAS, senior guard R.J. Newton was named to the Class 6A Central 17 All-Conference Team; and 18 19 WHEREAS, the Hornets were led by Head Coach Michael Abrahamson, 20 Assistant Coach Kelvin Parker, Athletic Director Kirk Bock, Principal Jason 21 Hay, and Athletic Trainer Christa Finney; and 22 23 WHEREAS, Head Coach Michael Abrahamson said of the win and the season, 24 "This was a season of resilience. We played a schedule featuring teams from 25 seven different states. We faced many types of adversity. We altered our 26 playing style and stuck together. In the end, we put a product to be proud of 27 on the floor and won a championship with toughness and grit. This team won their last ten games of the season, all by double digits", 28 29 30 NOW THEREFORE, 31 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE 32 STATE OF ARKANSAS: 33 34 THAT the Senate recognize the Bryant High School Hornets boys' 35 basketball team as the Class 6A state champions. 36

03/19/2025 10:53:03 AM ADF179

2

1	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
2	presented to Head Coach Michael Abrahamson by the Secretary of the Senate.
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21 22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	