1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 55
4	
5	By: Senator Crowell
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE TAYLOR HIGH SCHOOL TIGERS BASEBALL
10	TEAM AS THE 2024 CLASS 1A STATE CHAMPIONS.
11	
12	
13	Subtitle
14	TO RECOGNIZE THE TAYLOR HIGH SCHOOL
15	TIGERS BASEBALL TEAM AS THE 2024 CLASS
16	1A STATE CHAMPIONS.
17	
18	WHEREAS, the Taylor High School Tigers baseball team won the 2024 Class
19	lA state championship held on May 16, 2024, at Bear Stadium at the University
20	of Central Arkansas in Conway; and
21	
22	WHEREAS, this was the third straight Class 1A state championship win
23	for the Tigers and the eighth such win in school history, moving the Tigers
24	into a tie with the Sylvan Hills High School Bears for the fourth most
25	baseball championships in the State of Arkansas; and
26	
27	WHEREAS, the Tigers won the championship game by besting the West Side
28	Greers Ferry Eagles by a score of ten points to two points (10-2); and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Tigers finished the 2023-2024 season with a seventeen-game
31	winning streak and an overall record of twenty-three wins and four losses
32	(23-4); and
33	
34	WHEREAS, Tigers team members are Abram Andrews, Cannon Fowler, Wade
35	Barton, Carson Franks, Ryder Tate, Jessie Umphries, Ben Fantini, Jasper
36	Jones, Jacob Vandenberg, Cason Anders, Tuff Turnage, Kaleb Downs, Tucker



```
1
     Smith, Haydn Warrick, Aiden Hosley, Evin West, Max Montgomery, Landon Adams,
 2
     Titus Herman, Bayli Bramlett, Aiden Watson, and Ryder Millsap as well as team
 3
     manager Lucas Saunders and bat boy Silas Smith; and
 4
 5
           WHEREAS, team member Jessie Umphries was named to the All-State
 6
     Tournament Team; and
 7
8
           WHEREAS, team members Jessie Umphries, Aiden Hosley, and Jacob
9
     Vandenberg earned All-Region Honors; and
10
           WHEREAS, team members Jessie Umphries, Aiden Hosley, Kaleb Downs, and
11
12
     Jacob Vandenberg earned All-Conference Honors; and
13
14
           WHEREAS, the Tigers were led by Head Coach Brian Fowler and Assistant
15
     Coaches Scott Smith and Hayden Lindsey; and
16
17
           WHEREAS, 2023-2024 team member Waylon Woodell was named to the All-
18
     State Tournament Team and the All-Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Second Team,
19
     earned All-State Honors, All-Conference Honors, and All-Region Honors, and
20
     was named a Natural State Sports Second Team Infielder, an Arkansas
21
     Activities Association All-Star Game Selection, and a Fellowship of Christian
22
     Athletes All-Star Game Selection; and
23
24
           WHEREAS, 2023-2024 team member Mason Lindsey earned All-State Honors
25
     and All-Conference Honors and was named the Class 1A Arkansas PBS Scholar
26
     Athlete, an Arkansas Activities Association All-Star Game Selection, and a
27
     Fellowship of Christian Athletes All-Star Game Selection; and
28
29
           WHEREAS, 2023-2024 team member Austin Aycock was named the state
30
     championship tournament Most Valuable Player and earned All-Conference
31
     Honors; and
32
           WHEREAS, Head Coach Brian Fowler said of the season and the win, "Most
33
34
     high school players and coaches go their entire careers without getting close
35
     to playing in a state championship game, much less winning one. Winning a
36
     state championship is the ultimate team goal in high school athletics, so for
```

2

1	our players to be able to three-peat is truly remarkable. When you add in the
2	fact that our last two teams have been able to play well under the outside
3	pressure of being ranked number one in the state for the entire spring shows
4	how mentally tough that our guys are",
5	
6	NOW THEREFORE,
7	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
8	STATE OF ARKANSAS:
9	
10	THAT the Senate recognize the Taylor High School Tigers baseball team
11	as the 2024 Class 1A state champions.
12	
13	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
14	presented to Head Coach Brian Fowler by the Secretary of the Senate.
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33 34	
34 35	
35 36	
20	