1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 62
4	
5	By: Senator J. Petty
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE VAN BUREN HIGH SCHOOL POINTERS
10	WRESTLING TEAM AS THE 2024-2025 CLASS 5A STATE
11	CHAMPIONS AND THE LADY POINTERS WRESTLING TEAM AS THE
12	2024-2025 CLASS 5A STATE RUNNERS-UP.
13	
14	
15	Subtitle
16	TO RECOGNIZE THE VAN BUREN HIGH SCHOOL
17	POINTERS WRESTLING TEAM AS THE 2024-2025
18	CLASS 5A STATE CHAMPIONS AND THE LADY
19	POINTERS WRESTLING TEAM AS THE 2024-2025
20	CLASS 5A STATE RUNNERS-UP.
21	
22	WHEREAS, the Van Buren High School Pointers wrestling team won the
23	2024-2025 Class 5A state championship held on March 1, 2025, in Little Rock;
24	and
25	
26	WHEREAS, the Pointers won the championship with one hundred forty-nine
27	(149) points over runner-up Lakeside High School with one hundred twenty-four
28	and five-tenths (124.5) points; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, with this win, the Pointers captured their fourth consecutive
31	Class 5A wrestling state championship, and this in addition to the Pointers'
32	past dual wrestling championships equals a total of seven (7) state titles in
33	four (4) years; and
34 25	
35	WHEREAS, this win also secured the Pointers' stance as the most
36	successful athletic program in school history, surpassing the 1950s Lady



1 Pointers basketball teams that won three (3) consecutive state championships; 2 and 3 4 WHEREAS, the Pointers qualified in eleven (11) out of the fourteen (14) 5 weight classes for the state championship, and nine (9) out of those eleven 6 (11) finished in the top four (4) in their classes; and 7 8 WHEREAS, team member Dakota Fenwick was the individual state champion 9 in the one-hundred-thirty-two-pound class, marking his third consecutive 10 state championship; and 11 WHEREAS, team member Dakota Fenwick was also named Outstanding Wrestler 12 13 for the lower weight class at the tournament and set a new school record for 14 the most wins in a career; and 15 16 WHEREAS, team member Alex Lopez was the individual state champion in 17 the one-hundred-fifty-seven-pound class, marking back-to-back state 18 championships for him, and he was also named Outstanding Wrestler for the 19 middle weight class at the tournament; and 20 21 WHEREAS, team member Don O'Kelly was the individual state champion in 22 the one-hundred-twenty-six-pound class, marking his third consecutive state 23 championship; and 24 25 WHEREAS, additional team members placing were: 26 (1) Colton Purdy, state runner-up in the one-hundred-twenty-27 pound class; 28 (2) Bryan Ramos, state runner-up in the one-hundred-sixty-five-29 pound class; 30 (3) Danzel Arce, third place in the one-hundred-six-pound class; 31 Jalen Brown, third place in the one-hundred-fifty-pound (4) 32 class; 33 (5) Ethan Hurst, third place in the two-hundred-eighty-five-34 pound class; and 35 (6) Braedyn Stewart, fourth place in the one-hundred-forty-four-36 pound class; and

SR62

2

WHEREAS, the Pointers girls' wrestling team finished as state runners-up with one hundred thirty-four (134.0) points and had three (3) individual state champions: (1) Breanna Lozano in the one-hundred-fifteen-pound class; (2) Eva Garcia in the one-hundred-twenty-pound class; and (3) Evelyn Romero in the one-hundred-seventy-pound class; and WHEREAS, Pointers girls' wrestling team member Breanna Lozano was named Outstanding Wrestler for the lower weight class at the tournament; and WHEREAS, the Pointers and Lady Pointers were led by Head Coach John Petree and Assistant Coach Dakota Petree; and WHEREAS, Head Coach John Petree was named Class 5A wrestling Coach of the Year, NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: THAT the Senate recognize the Van Buren High School Pointers wrestling team as the 2024-2025 Class 5A state champions and the Lady Pointers wrestling team as the 2024-2025 Class 5A state runners-up. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption of this resolution, a copy be presented to Head Coach John Petree and Assistant Coach Dakota Petree by the Secretary of the Senate.