1	State of Arkansas
2	95th General Assembly
3	Regular Session, 2025 SR 66
4	
5	By: Senator B. Davis
6	
7	
8	SENATE RESOLUTION
9	TO RECOGNIZE THE ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY ROBOTICS
10	CLUB FOR WINNING THE TOURNAMENT CHAMPION AND INNOVATE
11	AWARDS AT THE 2025 TEXAS STATE VEX U TOURNAMENT.
12	
13	
14	Subtitle
15	TO RECOGNIZE THE ARKANSAS TECH
16	UNIVERSITY ROBOTICS CLUB FOR WINNING THE
17	TOURNAMENT CHAMPION AND INNOVATE AWARDS
18	AT THE 2025 TEXAS STATE VEX U
19	TOURNAMENT.
20	
21	WHEREAS, the Robotics Club of Arkansas Tech University in Russellville,
22	Arkansas, earned the Tournament Champion and Innovate Awards at the 2025
23	Texas State VEX U Tournament held at the Clear Creek Independent School
24	District Robotics Event Center in Houston, Texas, on February 21-22, 2025;
25	and
26	
27	WHEREAS, out of fifteen (15) competing teams, only two (2) other teams
28	won multiple awards at the tournament; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the Arkansas Tech University Robotics Club fabricated some
31	components using an on-campus shop and also three-dimensional printers, and
32	they had to program the robot for an autonomous portion of the tournament;
33	and
34	
35	WHEREAS, the Innovate Award recognizes an effective and well-documented
36	design process for a novel aspect of a team's robot design or gameplay



1	strategy, and the submission of an Engineering Notebook thoroughly
2	documenting the development of this unique attribute is a requirement; and
3	
4	WHEREAS, based upon its performance at the tournament, the Arkansas
5	Tech University Robotics Club has qualified for its third consecutive
6	invitation to compete in the VEX U World Championship, and this is one (1) of
7	only twenty-four (24) automatic invitations awarded to United States-based
8	universities for this competition; and
9	
10	WHEREAS, last year, the Arkansas Tech University Robotics Club advanced
11	through the qualification stage to reach the elimination round at the VEX U
12	Robotics World Championship and completed the 2023-2024 robotics season with
13	a top four (4) global skills ranking; and
14	
15	WHEREAS, members of the 2024-2025 Arkansas Tech University Robotics
16	Club are club president Hunter Mathis of Hope, club vice president Juan Leon
17	of Hope, club secretary Braden Pierce of Bryant, club treasurer Ryan
18	Nanthalangsy of Sheridan, club outreach director Everett Otis of Conway,
19	Brady Bray of Greenwood, Preston Diehl of Conway, Jason "Collin" Easterling
20	of Hope, Brandon Gallegos of Hope, Bo Allen Huey of Conway, Kavin Kannangara
21	of Bentonville, Judit Morales-Mora of Russellville, Brody Peterson of
22	Bentonville, Raul Hurtado of Conway, and Cooper Stober of Bentonville; and
23	
24	WHEREAS, club president Hunter Mathis stated of the team, "This year's
25	team is comprised of both upper and lower classmen who have dedicated
26	countless hours to building, programming, and piloting the most competitive
27	robots ATU has ever produced. This year alone, the ATU Robotics Club members
28	have invested over 10,000 total hours towards our success"; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the team was led by club sponsor Jacob Weidenfeller of
31	Harrison and club cosponsor Steve Ward of Dover,
32	
33	NOW THEREFORE,
34	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE
35	STATE OF ARKANSAS:

36

1	THAT the Senate recognize the Arkansas Tech University Robotics Club
2	for winning the Tournament Champion and Innovate Awards at the 2025 Texas
3	State VEX U Tournament.
4	
5	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT upon adoption, a copy of this resolution be
6	presented to club sponsor Jacob Weidenfeller by the Secretary of the Senate.
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	