TENTATIVE AGENDA (Revised 2/1/2012, 9:00 AM) **Senate Committee on Education** House Committee on Education **Meeting Jointly**

Tuesday, February 07, 2012

9:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair

Sen. Mary Anne Salmon, Vice Chair

Sen. Gilbert Baker Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott Sen. Bruce Holland Rep. Eddie L. Cheatham, Chair

Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck, Vice Chair

Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. Kathy Webb Rep. Bobby J. Pierce Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Randy Stewart Rep. Jerry R. Brown

Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine

Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Ann V. Clemmer Rep. James McLean

Rep. Jody Dickinson

Rep. Jane English Rep. Tracy Steele

Rep. Tommy Wren

Rep. James L. Word, Non-Voting

Rep. Andrea Lea, Non-Voting Rep. Garry L. Smith, Non-Voting Rep. Davy Carter, Non-Voting Rep. Tiffany Rogers, Non-Voting

Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting Rep. Homer Lenderman, Non-Voting Rep. Kelley Linck, Non-Voting Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting

Rep. Jeremy Gillam, Non-Voting

- Call to Order 9:00 A.M. A.
- В. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Discussion of Issues Related to the Arkansas Comprehensive Testing, Assessment, and Accountability Program (ACTAAP) and School Improvement

Dr. Laura Bednar, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Learning Services, Arkansas Department of Education

Mr. John Hoy, Assistant Commissioner, Division of Academic Accountability, Arkansas Department of Education

D. Presentation of Report, Review of School Improvement Consulting Expenditures and Results [Exhibit D]

Ms. Nell Smith, Senior Research Specialist, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research

Preliminary Discussion of Issues Related to State's Educational Technology Infrastructure E. Ms. Jerri Derlikowski, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research

Dr. Richard Abernathy, Executive Director, Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators

Mr. Bill Abernathy, Executive Director, Arkansas Rural Education Association

Dr. Diann Gathright, Superintendent, Mena School District

Dr. David Hopkins, Superintendent, Clarksville School District

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

Revised Tentative Agenda February 7, 2012 Page 2

- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment