TENTATIVE AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Monday, August 13, 2012 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

- Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair Sen. Mary Anne Salmon, Vice Chair Sen. Gilbert Baker Sen. Kim Hendren Sen. Gene Jeffress Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott Sen. Bruce Holland
- Rep. Eddie L. Cheatham, Chair Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck, Vice Chair Rep. Toni Bradford Rep. Kathy Webb Rep. Bobby J. Pierce Rep. Donna Hutchinson Rep. Randy Stewart Rep. Jerry R. Brown Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Ann V. Clemmer Rep. James McLean

Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. Jane English Rep. Tracy Steele Rep. Tommy Wren Rep. James L. Word, Non-Voting Rep. Andrea Lea, Non-Voting Rep. Garry L. Smith, Non-Voting Rep. Davy Carter, Non-Voting Rep. Tiffany Rogers, Non-Voting Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting Rep. Homer Lenderman, Non-Voting Rep. Kelley Linck, Non-Voting Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeremy Gillam, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes of May 7, 2012, May 8, 2012, May 9, 2012, and July 23, 2012 [Exhibits C1, C2, C3, and C4]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Discussion of Issues Related to School District Resource Allocation
 Ms. Jerri Derlikowski, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research
- F. Discussion of Issues Related to Teacher Salaries
 Ms. Heather Tackett, Legislative Analyst, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research
- G. Update on the Educational Activities of the Thea Foundation Mr. Paul Leopoulos, Executive Director, the Thea Foundation
- H. Discussion of the Recommendations from the "Arkansas 2032" Conference Hosted by the Clinton School of Public Service University of Arkansas [Exhibit H]
 Mr. James L. "Skip" Rutherford, Dean, Clinton School of Public Service, University of Arkansas
 Mr. Nate Looney, Student, Clinton School of Public Service, University of Arkansas, and Organizer, "Arkansas 2032" Conference
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Tentative Agenda August 13, 2012 Page 2

- I. Discussion of Issues Related to the Reintegration Process for Students Discharged from Day Treatment Facilities and Returning to their Respective School Districts
 Mr. Adam Baker, Chief Executive Officer, Perspectives Behavioral Health Management, LLC
- J. Other Business
- K. Adjournment