This page shows information from a previous legislative session and is presented for archive purposes only.


Legislative Analyst
Varnaria Vickers-Smith
Administrative Assistant
Ashley Miller
Legislative Attorney
Sarah Creasman

The committee makes continuing studies concerning the development of access to statewide public telecommunications networks for distance learning, telemedicine, and universal access for governmental entities and other issues concerning advanced communications and information technology, either initiated by the committee or referred to it by either house of the General Assembly for study in the interim between sessions of the General Assembly. This committee reviews any plan developed or updated by a public instrumentality. The committee may seek the assistance of the Office of Information Technology of the Department of Information Systems in conducting this review. (A.C.A. 10-3-1704) The Committee exercises leadership in the interim between legislative sessions and attempts to coordinate for the various committees of the General Assembly the various activities, studies, and planning activities of the General Assembly that relate to the development of access to a statewide public telecommunications information infrastructure. The Committee cooperates with the Governor, public secondary and postsecondary institutions of education, the appropriate administrative agencies of this state, legislative and administrative agencies and institutions of other states, the federal government, and others in the planning and development of access to a statewide public telecommunications infrastructure linking institutions, businesses, government agencies, schools, hospitals, libraries, communities, and other public and private entities to the national information infrastructure. The Committee exercises appropriate legislative oversight of the operations of the Department of Information Systems. The staff of the Joint Committee on Advance Communications and Information Technology serves as staff liaison to the Department of Information Systems Advisory Board and the Department of Information Systems Steering Committee.


Chair Chamber Member
Chair Senator Senator Bill Sample
Chair Representative Representative Stephen Meeks
Vice-Chair Senator Senator Bobby J. Pierce
Vice-Chair Representative Representative Michael John Gray
Senator Senator Ronald Caldwell
Senator Jake Files
Senator Jim Hendren
Senator Jimmy Hickey, Jr
Senator Bryan King
Senator Greg Standridge
Representative Representative Charles Blake
Representative Jim Dotson
Representative Justin Gonzales
Representative Fredrick J. Love
Representative Rebecca Petty
Representative Mathew W. Pitsch
Representative Brandt Smith

Standing SubCommittees

No subcommittees found in the 90th General Assembly for this committee.