This page shows information from a previous legislative session and is presented for archive purposes only.


Legislative Analyst
Marty Garrity
Administrative Assistant
Vicki Freeburn
Legislative Attorney
Jillian Thayer

The Council was established by Act 264 of 1949 to collect data and information upon which legislative decisions will be made during regular session of the General Assembly. The Bureau of Legislative Research of the Legislative Council is a service agency within the legislative department of government. All members of the General Assembly have access to the Bureau of Legislative Research. The Legislative Council is the supervisory committee for the Bureau of Legislative Research, the Council coordinates the activities of the various interim committees and through the various committees provides legislative oversight of the executive branch of government. The Council consists of 36 regular members which is comprised of 20 House members and 16 Senators. In addition there are 24 ex-officio voting members and 5 ex-officio non-voting members.(A.C.A. 10-3-301)



Chair Chamber Member
Chair Senator Senator Bill Sample
Chair Representative Representative John Charles Edwards
Vice Chair Senator Senator David Johnson
Vice Chair Representative Representative Terry Rice
Senator Senator David Burnett
Senator Ronald Caldwell
Senator Eddie Cheatham
Senator Linda Chesterfield
Senator Jonathan Dismang
Senator Joyce Elliott
Senator Jane English
Senator Stephanie Flowers
Senator Jim Hendren
Senator Bart Hester
Senator Jeremy Hutchinson
Senator Keith Ingram
Senator Missy Irvin
Senator Johnny Key
Senator Bryan King
Senator Michael Lamoureux
Senator Uvalde Lindsey
Senator Bruce Maloch
Senator Bobby J. Pierce
Senator Jason Rapert
Senator David J. Sanders
Senator Gary Stubblefield
Senator Larry Teague
Senator Robert Thompson
Senator Eddie Joe Williams
Senator Jon Woods
Representative Representative Denny Altes
Representative Duncan Baird
Representative David L. Branscum
Representative John Burris
Representative Davy Carter
Representative Ann V. Clemmer
Representative Andy Davis
Representative Jody Dickinson
Representative Jon S. Eubanks
Representative Jeremy Gillam
Representative Kim Hammer
Representative Debra M. Hobbs
Representative Karen S. Hopper
Representative Lane Jean
Representative Joe Jett
Representative Andrea Lea
Representative Greg Leding
Representative Kelley Linck
Representative David Meeks
Representative Stephen Meeks
Representative James Ratliff
Representative Tommy Thompson
Representative John W. Walker
Representative Jeff Wardlaw
Representative Bruce Westerman
Representative Butch Wilkins
Representative James L. Word